Neonfire CD cover


Greg Russo's original songs, along with a cover of a lesser-known Dylan tune (If You Gotta Go, Go Now), are realized by musicians connected to the music of Frank Zappa. The result is a CD full of stellar performances and highly melodic songs, with real people playing real instruments - remember those days?

Guests include Candy Zappa (Frank's sister), Nolan Porter (who recorded with members of The Mothers Of Invention just after their breakup), acclaimed mid-'70s Zappa vocalist Napoleon Murphy Brock, '60s surf instrumentalists The Tornadoes, André Cholmondeley (lead and rhythm guitars) and Glenn Leonard (drums) from the noted FZ tribute band Project/Object, drummer Jon Braun from Pennsylvania band The Insidious Rays, violinist extraordinaire Joe Deninzon and trumpeter Dave Ballou.

With Greg Russo on keyboards, his brother Jeff on bass, André Cholmondeley on all guitars and the above musicians on the rest of the album, Neonfire has created a unique sound influenced by music from the '60s to the present.

Neonfire features Alive, Hot As The Sun, The Addiction and many other fine performances. The full track listing is:
  1. Alive (lead vocals: CANDY ZAPPA & NOLAN PORTER)
  2. Alibi Drive (lead vocal: CANDY ZAPPA)
  3. Lying Down (lead vocal: NOLAN PORTER)
  4. Hot As The Sun (lead vocal: CANDY ZAPPA)
  5. If You Gotta Go, Go Now (lead vocal: CANDY ZAPPA, written by BOB DYLAN)
  6. Clear View (lead vocal: NAPOLEON MURPHY BROCK)
  7. Road Warrior (lead vocal: ANGELO ARCARIO)
  8. Bottom Feeder (featuring THE TORNADOES)
  9. The Addiction (lead vocal: ANGELO ARCARIO)
  10. Change In The Weather (lead vocal: NAPOLEON MURPHY BROCK, violins: JOE DENINZON)
  11. The Isle Of Waiting (lead vocal: NAPOLEON MURPHY BROCK, trumpet: DAVE BALLOU)
  12. Evil One (lead vocal: ANGELO ARCARIO)
  13. The House Of Mini (lead vocal: DENISE RUSSO)
  14. Alive (AAA Mix) (lead vocals: CANDY ZAPPA & NOLAN PORTER)
Price: $7

Order CD

Audio samples and downloads from iTunes

Back to the Home Page